Assam AU to produce hybrid compost from next year

NALBARI, Nov 28 – In order to encourage the organic cultivation and to reduce the ill-effects of chemical fertilisers, the Assam Agriculture University (AAU), Jorhat has decided to produce hybrid compost from next year.

This was disclosed by the Vice-Chancellor, of the Assam Agriculture University, Jorhat Dr Kamal Malla Bujarbaruah while addressing the scientific advisory committee meeting held at Nalbari Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) on Monday. Dr Buzarbaruah said, “We need 4350 metric tonnes compost to cover only 25 per cent crops area in the State. Unfortunately, at present we are producing only 7.5 tonnes including vermi-compost. The VC further added that the AAU has fixed the target of producing 1,500 metric tonnes hybrid compost this year. For that the AAU has decided to set up five hybrid compost-producing projects under each Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK). Besides, 10 projects will be set up under the guidance of self-help groups (SHG) preferably woman SGHs in the State. The VC said that if the women SHGs come forward to produce hybrid compost, then the AAU will provide all kind of support.

Dr Bujarbaruah also said that the AAU will conduct a demonstration on home science at Nalbri KVK shortly. He called upon the scientists of Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) to work for the awareness on climate change, disaster management and post-harvest management among the farmers. The Vice-Chancellor requested the NABARD officials to hold awareness meeting on the rain water harvesting through the ‘Jal-kund’ scheme.

The scientific advisory committee meeting was addressed among others by Dr Bhupendra Chandra Bhowmick, DEE, AAU, Dr Nitya Nanda Sarma, director, research (Agri); AAU, Dr Apurba Chakravarty director, Research (Veterinary); AAU, Puro Gupta, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Nalbari, Niva Baruah, chairman, Nalbari Zilla Parisad.

Dr Monoranjan Neog, programme co-ordinator of Nalbari KVK presented the annual report and action plan for next session. Scientist Dr Ramani Thakuria and Dr Mridul Deka offered vote of thanks to the participants.